Brooklyn Academy of Music Threatens The Creator of #BAM

BAM saga continues

Nicholas Payton

bam-letter-to-nicholas-payton-1-25-17-page-001bam-letter-to-nicholas-payton-1-25-17-page-002bam-letter-to-nicholas-payton-1-25-17-page-003

So, I get this email today from Brooklyn Academy of Music legal team trying to shake me down from withdrawing my application to trademark #BAM: Black American Music. I’m shocked and appalled for several reasons.

According to the letter above, we presented #BAM at BAM two years ago. We were in talks for years before that trying to put that gig together until Danny Kapilian stepped in and made it happen so beautifully. Thanks, Danny. It was a joyous and momentous occasion outdoors at the MetroTech in Brooklyn. If you all had a problem with it, why didn’t you come after me then? You were full aware that I had been using it for years, only now you conveniently take issue with it.

You attempting to get me to abandon my mission to save Black music is antithetical to your edict as an arts administration. You are supposed to be…

View original post 462 more words

Leave a Reply

