For a Moment

This piece was selected as a finalist for our Nonfiction Writing Competition, Spring 2016.

Written by: Sarah Chen (Po-Yun Chen) 

For a Moment

It was after almost an entire week of holding my breath every time I stepped into that classroom, after I had convinced myself that my teacher was only kidding, of course she was, who would actually seriously suggest something that had nothing to do with the curriculum and that we probably didn’t have time for and that—

So,” Mrs. Smith said, her hand on a stack of paper. “We have some time left, and Sarah wrote a short story. I thought it would be fun to read it as a class.”

Dear God, I thought, I must be a masochist. There was no other explanation for ever wanting to be in this situation, all eyes on me in curiosity or skepticism or whatever it was…

View original post 879 more words

Leave a Reply

